Marshall County Service Personnel Member of the Year and Teacher of the Year Named

Marshall County Board of Education members and county administrators recognized Service Personnel and Teacher of the Year candidates during the regular board meeting on Tuesday evening.

Each year service personnel, teachers and administrators vote a faculty and staff member to represent their school as a county contender. Then a committee, consisting of county office officials and previous award recipients, conduct interviews and choose the county winners.

Cameron Elementary School Kindergarten Aide Sherry Reid was named Service Personnel Member of the Year for Marshall County Schools. Reid has been employed as an aide in Marshall County Schools for 12 years.


Joy VanScyoc, an Art teacher at Moundsville Middle School, was awarded with 2019 Marshall County Schools Teacher of the Year. She also instructs a Project Lead the Way class in Design and Modeling. VanScyoc created a new chapter of the Technology Student Association (TSA) at the middle school that focuses on completing challenges and competing in various areas of science, technology engineering, art and math.

Service Personnel Member of the Year Nominees included: Jerry Gump (Bus Garage), Sherry Reid (Cameron Elementary School), Patty Smith (Cameron High School), Karen Yoders (Center McMechen Elementary School), Jill Schwing (Central Elementary School), Bill Wiseman (Glen Dale Elementary School), Rick Young (Hilltop Elementary School), Julie Anderson (John Marshall High School), Matt Thomas (Maintenance), Erin Holmes (McNinch Primary School), Leanne Dobbs (Moundsville Middle School), Nicole Stocklask (Sand Hill Elementary School), Corinne Snider (Sherrard Middle School) and Becky Orndorff (Washington Lands Elementary School).

Other Teacher of the Year nominees at each school included: Andrea Magers (Cameron Elementary School), Whitney Healy (Cameron High School), Roseann Haynes (Center McMechen Elementary School), Tonya Lehman (Central Elementary School), Sally Mull (Glen Dale Elementary School), Lori McLaughlin (Hilltop Elementary School), Kallie Kastrevec (John Marshall High School), Carla Whitlatch (John Marshall High School), Shay Ryan (McNinch Primary School), Stacy Hooper (Sand Hill Elementary School), Michael Murphy (Sherrard Middle School) and Julie Sturgill (Washington Lands Elementary School).

All Service Personnel of the Year and Teacher of the Year nominees were presented with a certificate for being chosen as designees at their respective district locations.

Service Personnel Member of the Year Nominees are pictured from left.  Front row: Jerry Gump, Patty Smith, Sherry Reid (Service Personnel of the Year), Karen Yoders and Jill Schwing. Back row: Cathy Bartlett, Bill Wiseman, Julie Anderson, Matt Thomas, Erin Holmes, and Becky Orndorff.


Teacher of the Year nominees are pictured from left. Front row: Andrea Magers, Whitney Healy, Roseann Haynes, Joy VanScyoc (Teacher of the Year), Tonya Lehman and Sally Mull. Back row: Lori McLaughlin, Kallie Kastrevec, Shay Ryan, Stacy Hooper,  Michael Murphy and Julie Sturgill.

Mentorship Turned Friendship Leads Teachers to National Certification

From left: McNinch Primary teachers Shawna Zervos and Nicole Majewski have earned National Board Certification in Early Childhood Literacy.

One of the most important factors that ensures a student gets a good education is the quality of the teacher.

An effective teacher can be described in many different ways: caring, respectful and kind, along with being a good listener and communicator.  However, those adjectives only describe a teacher’s character.  Skill and knowledge of the subject being taught are also essential.

McNinch Primary School 1st grade teacher Nicole Majewski and Pre-K teacher Shawna Zervos were recently recognized as accomplished educators by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. Each earned the distinction of National Board Certification in Early Childhood Literacy. The designation is the most respected professional certification available in K-12 education.

To be considered for the national certification a candidate must have a bachelor’s degree, valid state teaching license and three years of classroom experience.  Each teacher must also meet score requirements on a written test, portfolio and classroom performance in order to achieve National Board Certification.

Majewski has been teaching in Marshall County for 8 ½ years. She holds a bachelor’s degree in Early Childhood/Elementary Education and is in the process of earning a master’s degree from West Virginia University in Reading and Literacy Leadership.

Zervos has been teaching in Marshall County for 25 years. She has an Early Childhood/Elementary Education bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in K-12 Reading.

Majewski and Zervos decided to work through the lengthy certification process together. The two first met when Zervos was assigned to be Majewski’s professional mentor in 2007. “We were put together by chance,” Zervos explained. “We didn’t realize at the time what a blessing this pairing would be for us.”

As time went by the mentorship morphed into a friendship.  “I have admired Shawna since our first meeting,” Majewski said. “We just hit it off. We really motivate each other.”

Both say they couldn’t have done it without the other. Majewski and Zervos also appreciate the help they received along the way from Marshall County Schools Curriculum Director Woody Yoder. “He was the principal at Center McMechen during our mentoring and was instrumental, the past few years, in securing professional work time from the county in support of our endeavors,” said Zervos.

Majewski and Zervos are the first teachers in West Virginia to earn a National Board Certification in Early Childhood Literacy.

McNinch Primary Students Jump to Fight Against Heart Disease

From left: McNinch Primary 2nd grader Ashely McCulley throws a pie at her teacher, Laken Whitlatch, as the school mascot cheers in the background.

Jumping rope does wonders for your heart. It can also do wonders for raising life-saving funds for the American Heart Association.

As a Jump Rope For Heart school, the students at McNinch Primary and their coordinator Ashley Doty hosted a special event to help the American Heart Association’s mission to fight the #1 and #5 killers of Americans – heart disease and stroke.

Around 500 students participated in the campaign. McNinch Primary raised almost $4,000 for the American Heart Association’s mission in West Virginia.

The students celebrated their fundraising efforts with an assembly. Teachers were hit with pies by students who raised the most money.

“It’s amazing to think that one school can generate so much funding for our cause,” said Michelle Loehr, Development Director for the American Heart Association. “I want to thank and commend the students at McNinch Primary for doing so much to help save lives here in Marshall County.”

“I also want to thank Ashley Doty for continuing to motivate her students to not only get active, but to go big and help raise these critical funds,” added Loehr. “It’s exciting to know that every grade in the school will be having a great time for a great cause.”